would like your input for effects for strumming/acoustic guitar

damianhk

I'd be interested in how you approach adding effects to an acoustic or an electric guitar that is strumming. I'm just learning about the dotted eighth, etc. If you have a starting point or something you try first, that would be good info. I know the options are infinite, just hoping to stumble on helpful tips.

It kinda depends how busy the mix is. In a busy mix with bass you'll have to HP and/or cut the bottom end a lot more than you think. A little compression/limiting to tame uneven peaks can help if you have a vocal over it. Acoustic guitar is pretty dynamic is strummed with any passion.

yes Nola, cutting the lows helped alot. So far, a touch of reverb (same as vocal) seems to sound the best. But i really would like to understand delay better.

What's your goal with FX on your acoustic?

I feel like acoustic instruments especially require a lot more effort in the tracking stage to get right. If your guitar doesn't sound good in the room, and you haven't placed your mics correctly, fixing it with FX will be an exercise in frustration.

But if you've tracked it well, a little compression and EQ can probably help it sit in the mix better.

these are old tracks; it's actually a clean electric, straight in. Just trying to make the tracks sound less flat. and more level. I did eq and compress. Originally, I had the compressor in the wrong place. I think i will get into delay on later tunes. You are so right about getting it right while tracking. In the old days, I really wasn't paying attention. So far, the input here has helped tremendously. Changing the position of the compressor, and cutting the lows. The good part is that i have one left guitar and one right, so i can pan them wide and maybe get a natural chorus. Not sure if i should add chorus on top of that. I'll probably stick to what i have, and track better in the future.