What is Sidechain Compression?

language evolves and the usage of it changes.

We old guys may not like it but that's the fact.

Gay used to mean happy ....... now it doesn't ...... no matter how much you want it to it now means gay .....

I had a guy ream me because I referred to an amp without adjustable bias as 'fixed' bias. Technically it's not .... it's a specific way of biasing a tube circuit ...... but the fact is .... LOTS of techs, and some really good ones, very often use the term interchangebly with meaning that or a non-adjustable bias.

To someone who wants to be a stickler for original definitions of words it's upsetting but there's no escaping the evolution of language no matter how hard you fight it.

language change is a fact of life. in my real life (outside of music) i'm a professional linguist and this is one of my pet peeves, when people insist that a word means one thing just because it meant that in the past...language changes.

language change is a fact of life. in my real life (outside of music) i'm a professional linguist and this is one of my pet peeves, when people insist that a word means one thing just because it meant that in the past...language changes.

Language has to keep up with changes. There's no PIE word for wireless. But without some degree of conservatism language might change fast enough that 50 year old people can't communicate with 30 year old people and none of those can understand teenagers. Conservatism in language is good because it serves a purpose.

This from Wikepedia via JD :

Side-chaining
The sidechain of a feed-forward compressor

When side-chaining, the compressor uses the volume level of an input signal to determine how strongly the compressor will reduce the gain on its output signal. This is used by ...

Acck. "When side-chaining"? Should read something along the lines;