What is mixing

RobertN

What is mixing? I feel dumb from not knowing but, I am a beginner. Most of the people I know dont even do mixs.

How do you mix and what is the best for mixing? Software, hardware, or a combo of both.

Is mixing neccessary for the beginning level.

RobertN said:
What is mixing? I feel dumb from not knowing but, I am a beginner. Most of the people I know dont even do mixs.

How do you mix and what is the best for mixing? Software, hardware, or a combo of both.

Is mixing neccessary for the beginning level.

If you're that much of a newbie then I would suggest you just lurk for awhile and start reading threads. You'll learn a lot here.

Basically, mixing is the process of taking the individually recorded tracks and blending them together using many different skills and techniques so that they make a song. There are MANY more aspects to it that just blending but for somebody to sit down and type out a lengthy response is probably a bit much for this forum.

However, as you read some of the threads in this forum you will notice lots of links that will lead you to articles and papers that were written by some of the best in the business that might make things easier for you to understand and help you grasp the concept that is mixing.

Luck to you!

7th string did give some good advice. Reading some of what has already been posted can give you some good insight. I won't say what I think mixing is, as I'm new enough that I'll leave it to someone with more knowledge. I will tell you there is some great stuff on this board, and some really good, knowledgable people.

Whatever you do, try and keep it fun. You will see a few people don't do this, but most do, and some people with tons of knowledge do devote there time to help those of us who want to improve our music, but have no aspirations of making a platinum cd.

If you get something you feel is a good sounding recording, post it. It's a blast to hear what other people are doing.
Good luck.
Ed