Using a compressor as limiter for master?

mesaboogie5050

Okay, here is what I have going on.

I have used a multi band compressor to compress the lows, low mid range, mid range, and highs.

Now, I am a noob at this stuff. I want the final compression to run through my analog compressor. The reason why, is I've noticed the warm sound I get from it, I'm not getting with any of the free plug ins that come with Logic Pro X.

It can be used as a limiter, as it goes up extremely high on the ratio.

How do I know how high to put it? Because when doing it with plug ins I have always used an adaptive limiter. It does not have a ratio. The ad limiter plugin Just shows the input, the gain, and ceiling DB.

I know you can not tell me what ratio to put it at without hearing the song first. But I guess what I am asking, is what am I looking for? since I'm not really compressing in the traditional sense, like with each instrument when mixing, or even the multi band compression. Since, I am compressing the entire song, what am I looking for? How much compression is typical?

I need it to be enough that I can turn the make up gain up loud enough to use it like the Ad limiter and go somewhere around -2db. To bring the whole song up to volume.

So, I understand how to use a compressor as a limiter... On a track. Say, drums. But I do not understand how to do it on an entire song, because I don't want to squash all the dynamics completely.

If I turn the thing up past 5:1 into the limiting spectrum will I not squash the song by doing so? And is that why an adaptive limiter does it without a ratio? Or does it have a ratio I don't know about?

I want the final compression to run through my analog compressor. The reason why, is I've noticed the warm sound I get from it, I'm not getting with any of the free plug ins that come with Logic Pro X.

What high end analog compressor is this that's so much better than an appropriate and properly used plugin?

How do I know how high to put it?