Understanding a compressor

anthonyg123

This is my first time ever using a forum so I apologize for any mistakes and/or stupid questions I have, feel free to poke fun to the point I understand what I am being stupid about because I am open to all criticism or advice. When using a compressor, how much gain reduction is common or appropriate for an instrument with a lot of dynamic range such as bass? I'm not looking for a number because I'm aware every knob should always be set individually, but I'm looking for your personal opinions on what you've discovered so I can understand what I am doing or doing wrong. Do I want to see the gain reduction level hitting the same db level? Is it okay if it fluctuates between different dbs or am I trying to stop this by using a different ratio? I know this is a lot to answer but any help at all is much appreciated. It is frustrating after monthes of still not understanding what is helping or hurting my signal.

Edit: I attached two photos of the same note with a ratio of 2:1 and 3:1. They both have a gain reduction 3 that does not change. I may be wrong but isn't the ratio supposed to change the amount of gain reduction?

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2015-03-16 at 2.10.37 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2015-03-16 at 2.10.37 PM.png
    714.9 KB · Views: 352
  • yup.png
    yup.png
    738.2 KB · Views: 346
Last edited:
Haha I agree this is super important! But I'm really looking for someone experienced to better explain what to look for so that I can experiment with a better understanding instead of continuously changing my settings because I don't think its working correctly.

The best thing to do is to play with it, whether it be a hardware compressor or plug in. Fiddle with every knob, setting etc. Take it to extremes, play with it subtly, but play with it on one source that you are familiar with. This applies to ANY piece of gear, be it hardware or software you have.Thoroughly learn it and it's characteristics.