Toontrack EZmix 2

I actually played with it last night again. I could not get it to work on the kick I had or the toms, found a snare preset that was ok once tweaked.

Overall though, you really need the right sources and you still have to tweak this thing.

Two years too late, but I've only registered today and I'm about to pursue this recording stuff again. I'm a drummer mainly, but IMO, I'm quite a competent song writer. This does not mean I'm a good guitarist or anything, my talent lies in drums (and a hint of bass). So, I have all these idea's in my head. I have an ear for music. I want to get what's in my head, out into a song of moderate sound quality. For YEARS I have slaved over mixes only to find "Well this sounds dull/bright/lackluster/non-punchy/muddy/crowded etc, and despite experimenting with arrangements and different plugs and a myriad of different mix approaches, I could never just get a "ball park" (as stated above) sound. Mostly on guitar and drums. Distorted guitars mainly (of a heavier variety). I went through so many guitars, tube amps, mics, cabs, speakers, everything and wasted copious amounts of money and for what? The same disappointing results over and over. All I wanted was to write and record listenable music. I don't have the budget for Waves plugs, despite how good the SSL's and vintage tube and tape plugs sounded when I demo'd them, I just don't earn enough cash or be able to justify this as any more than a hobby to fund with quadruple digit money. So is it so wrong, to want to get listenable results, on the cheap and easy? I'd still choose a proper engineer and proper gear if I COULD AFFORD TO but it's also nice to have the option to record a decent sounding project on the cheap at 4 am in the morning. I'm just not a competent engineer, I don't think I will be either, since I've been at it for 6 years now on and off, and it's still hit and miss but mostly miss... I know how things work, and I can definitely tweak and perfect but try