Is there any use for testing mixes on speakers anymore?

YellowDwarf

Dismember
I'm a commuter and a hobbyist.

Dumb question, (/edit and maybe it's a bit tongue in cheek), but it seems to me that hardly anyone listens to music anymore on anything besides some form of cover-your-ear headphones or stick-in-your ear earbuds or something in between. In all my education on sound production, I've been advised to test mixes on a variety of devices, (/edit including car stereos and the like).

Problem is that all I see are young folks on the train/subway listening (/edit: to crappy music) on the aforementioned listening devices. Even I don't have a stereo on the main floor of my home anymore, only (/edit my wife's) god awful bose thingamajig that makes everything too base-y.

:) When posting mixes, I've had comments that pertained directly and only to how it sounds great on everything else besides a $3 pair of earbuds. :cool:

So, I'll ask the folks who still participate here my title question: Is there any use for testing mixes on speakers anymore?

Timbo

Last edited:
Not sure what you mean by "testing"...like, are you saying mix on studio monitors like you normally would and then test only on earbuds...or are you saying mix on earbuds instead of monitors....?

If you want to just test on earbuds,OK, but if you are testing, why make the assumption that no one listens on car speakers or home stereo speakers.
It's pretty normal on a subway or bus to see everyone wearing earphones or earbuds...but I don't think that means no one is using anything but them.

For mixing...studio monitors are still the best option. AFA testing...if you really want to test, the more playback systems the better...
...or do the total opposite, get the right studio monitors and dial them in...and then don't waste your time testing on anything else.