Subtractive EQ - how many cuts?

rokdan

Hi all, first post here :-)

With the endless supply of eq's these days, when it comes to subtractive eq and eliminating harsh frequencies, how many cuts is good practice?

I mean an acoustic guitar for example, you can probably find at least 5 bad frequencies when boosted with narrow Q etc - do you cut all of them? Or just 1 or 2?

I know the ears are the golden rule, but what is common practice - and what is ridiculous over the top cutting?

The big desks usually have 2-3 sweepers - is that enough? Or is that a limitation on the actual hardware?

Cheers
Dan

I think the answer you're going to get is: as many as needed.

I'm no expert, I've just seen this play out before.

I will add to this. You have to listen and determine the sound based on the mix. If you EQ an instrument alone, then bring it into the mix, it will have different results than just using the EQ in relationship to the mix.

5 bad frequencies on an acoustic? I guess I need to go back and revisit my guitar tracks. I know of two I pretty much treat, down at the low end where it tends to rumble and some slight roll off at the top (I don't like bright AG). Other than that, I wouldn't know where the other three are.

EQ to/for the mix.

Pretty much any tight range of frequencies is going to sound bad when boosted.

Sometimes it's advised to 'scan' with a narrow notch to help you find problem frequencies, which seems to be what you're describing, but that's on the assumption that you're aware of a problem and your ears aren't experienced enough to just know straight-off where it is.

If you scan a perfectly good recording like that you could convince yourself there are problems that just aren't there.
Could that be happening?
4 band eq is almost always more than enough for me.