Some Mixing Tips

Status
Not open for further replies.
Harvey I am going to print out those rules you just gave and put them right next to my mixing environment. Not only for me, but for the bands that I mix so that they can get some idea of how mixing down works. That is one of the best explanations I could ever think of. I might omit that keeping people happy thing though. I think too often pride gets in the way of a good mix and I wish I had enough clout to make them realize that.

Ok you have been recording and mixing for a very long time. Do you ever just want to slap some guy that wants his guitar to be the loudest and most overpowering thing in the mix because he has some chip on his shoulder?? I would think because you are older and more experienced someone would listen to you without much argument. Is that the case?

I think drummers are easiest to get along with!!
(I am a drummer) :)

Beezoboy

Beezoboy said:
Ok you have been recording and mixing for a very long time. Do you ever just want to slap some guy that wants his guitar to be the loudest and most overpowering thing in the mix because he has some chip on his shoulder?? I would think because you are older and more experienced someone would listen to you without much argument. Is that the case?
Beezoboy
You'd think so, but it doesn't work that way in real life. Most guitarists (not all, but a lot of them) seem to want way more of themselves in the mix than other members of the group. I have my own theories about it; some are not happy in the group and want to use the recording as a showcase of their talents for other groups, or they are so focused on their part, they don't understand how it should contribute to the whole song. Either way, it's a problem.