Reverb: how do I imitate this sound?

nkberg

Hi guys. I'm really new to this stuff and was wondering how I could get a reverb/delay or what ever to sound like this? I really like the sound of these vocals, and the feeling the reverb gives. I just can't seem to figure out what settings I should use. I don't know where to start. I use garageband or Logic pro 9

(I wasnt able to link the video, but just search "Sam Smith Nirvana Acoustic" on youtube, it's the one uploaded on channel "SAM SMITH")

Thanks in advance

It's a subtle enough reverb which makes it kinda hard to call but as a starting point I think I'd be looking for a reasonably long reverb time and no early reflections. If the reverb has an eq I'd roll off a lot of the bass too. (reverb bass - not dry track bass)

I mean, I'm not saying that's what they've done but that'd be my starting point if I wanted to re-create it.

Top-tip (IMO) - set the reverb level to 100% wet whilst adjusting your settings. That way you can clearly hear what all your changes are doing.
When you hit on something nice start pulling the wet/dry down to single figure percentages.
I do that with a lot of hard-to-hear effects.
It's not something to do all the time but it can help you to get familiar with the tools you have.

Top-tip 2 - If you think 10% wet sounds perfect, set it to 5%. ;)

Hope that's useful.

I think the trick with that reverb is in the pre-delay....it's a bit longer.

When he pauses with his singing, listen to the reverb on the very first word when he comes back in again...the dry comes in clearly ahead of the verb, and then the verb blooms in and tails off long.
To me, it also sounds like a plate reverb or some kind of room....rather than a bigger hall-type.

I think the trick with that reverb is in the pre-delay....it's a bit longer.