ramsa analog recording console. Good Console?

acel6s

I am looking at a Ramsa Recording console. I don't remember the exact model number, but it starts with WT and I believe it is about 5 to 8 years old. It has 20 channels, 8 busses (actually 16 by flipping a switch), 2 eff sends per channel, full meter bridge (20 leds for the channel, 8 VU's for the busses and two VU's for L/R), 3 Band parametric EQ per channel (all 3 bands sweepable), individual phantom power on each channel, in line monitoring, phase switch for each channel, talkback mike, 2 phones outputs yadda yadda yadda.....

My question is: Are these good consoles? Relative to say, a Mackie 1604 or my current Alesis Studio 24? I am relatively new to this game, but there seems to be some school of thought out there that says that some of the older analog boards are "warmer" than current analog or digital models. Personally, I have found Mackies to be "dry" sounding in live situations, and found some people's recording mixes to be lacking "oomph" from these boards (I realize that this is VERY dependent on the engineer).

I would appreciate any and all advice anybody can offer me on this.

Thank You

I can't say I know much about Ramsa, but when the "older school" guys talk about the warm sound of the old analog boards, they're refering to the old $250,000 Neve consoles and $750,000 SSL's, not the $2500 Ramsa's!

Seriously though, I'd be hesitant to buy a board that's that old. Static has a way of creeping into old potentiometers and faders. Part of that "dry" sound you get from a Mackie is due to the purity of the signal as it passes through the board. I prefer that to the coloration that you have to account for in the older boards.

ramsa's are excellent boards for medium level work. i work at a radio station and we just switched over to mackies from our old ramsa board. boy do we miss the ramsa. the ramsa has a much better sound and feel. i HATE our mackies.