Producers

Does the title "Producer" get thrown around too loosely for your comfort?

• Yes

Votes: 42 79.2%
  • No

Votes: 8 15.1%
  • If I make beat, I'm a producer!

Votes: 3 5.7%

• Total voters

Cult_Status02

I am not a fan of the title, unless it's rightfully earned. I was wondering what you guys think about the title. I get annoyed by the people that say they are "Premeir(sic) up and coming producers in (insert city)." Even though they just recorded a friend's band and their band one time on a karaoke machine. Anyway, I'm not a fan of people throwing around the title more than "engineer," which is pretty bad too, but just wondering what all of you think of it.

Oh yeah, I thought this was the best section to post in because...well, mixing and mastering is an action, as is producing, and not equipment or software. That's all I could come up with. Sorry if this has been asked before, but I couldn't find it in the search.

I'm not a big fan of labels of any kind. Sometimes, when I'm at a bar, I'll tell women that I'm an astronaut, though.

It seems to work better than "producer".

the way I see it is producers work closely with the band in order to get a good record out of them. A lot of times they are employed by a company (typically a record company) and are payed to keep the band on task and to make sure that time is used wisely. They're the liaison between the record company and the band...representing both parties.

depending on the situation (and usually budget), the engineer (recording/mixing) can be considered the producer. If the band isn't having their album released by a major company, they may turn to the engineer who has a lot of experience with recording albums.