Preferred software for Remixing

Bradders1975

Hi All,

I have done a little bit of remixing using Sony Acid but really only very amateurish. I would like to spend a bit of time on remixing some tunes just for the fun of it and was wondering if there are any remix enthusiasts on here?

What software do you use when creating a remix (either from stems or original tracks)?
How do you do your tempo matching?

I know it's not "mixing" as per the forum title so if it should be in another forum let me know and I'll sort it out.

Cheers!

From my understanding, "FruityLoops" is built more for that kind of thing.

But as Btyre said, it's not the DAW, It's you! FLoops won't make it any easier, the workflow is different but that's about it.

(I'm an FL user, I can see how it would make sampling easy, I have no experience with other daws other than Audacity, so take what I said with a pinch of salt if you will)

Why is the tempo a problem? In FL you can just click "Detect Tempo" and it does all the work for you, and if your samples are in a different bpm you can just stretch them to make them fit. There are lots of YouTube videos explaining this for the specific program, maybe look at some before you make up your mind?

yeah, obviously the finished product is going to be determined by my own creativity / input so perhaps I phrased the question incorrectly. Probably should have said, "anyone doing any remixing out there, can you recommend a DAW that has a workflow that most supports your creative process in this area"?

Cheers for the heads up on FL, haven't looked at it for years. Beat mapping in ACID is hit and miss and in Sonar is very laborious (still might end up being the best bet but just checking if anyone had a recommended option based on their own experience). I'll have another look at it.