New Forum member with questions :o)

DogRox

Yo all.. i been reading this forum for awhile now..since i aquired a tascam 488 mkii last year! I just signed in now.. to see if some peepels can help me out with some advice to some mixing effects i am trying to achieve here.

OK first of all i am not experienced with mixing obviously or i wouldnt be going bonkers trying to get a good mix in my recent project!

hers is some fo the things i am having troubles with:

1) i am tyring to get this effect of sounds approaching you in the middle in a distance.. and then going by you... granted this is NOT 3d sound i am playing with .. just plain stereo left and right. .. but just the simple effect to give the illusion that it is approaching and then going by!

The sound signal be MONO in the center off in the distance .. at least SOUND like it is in the distance.. then as it approaches i wanna widen the sound to sound like your going right between it, as it goes on by you.. so it needs to have a stereo effect there...

Meanwhile while this is happening there will be music or some ambiance sound in the background that will playing as all this is happening.

All i have for effects processor hooked into the tascam 488 mkii is a yamaha SPX-90

The who process is to give acheive a DISTANCE type feel! like travling through space! Know what i mean?!?!

I have good sound editor programs for the computer which is GOOD in general but not very good for getting the effect i want through the mixer as I have worked with the computer to make sounds before, and keeping them digital i would burn them to audio cd (keeping them 44k stereo) there is still alwasy static in the sounds that is VERYYYYYYYYYYYY annoying!.. now matter what i do to clean them up there is always some thign that doesnt make them sound right in comparing it to doing the efect on the tascam wiht the SPX-90.