My Advice as a Novice

TheLurker

So. I am pretty new to audio engineering and production. However, here is my advice that I have tested and found is the best thing I can pass on to other people starting out...

1) Use your ears - You know what sounds good, and what doesn't. Don't settle.

2) Test your mix/master on different types of speakers and see what the result is... You know you have a good mix/master when it sounds good on mid-grade headphones, car speakers, and studio monitors.

3) EQ, Compression, Reverb, and Panning are the essential elements of mixing.

4) EQ will make or break your mixes - play with it and learn how EQing things changes and opens up your songs. EQ essentially creates notches in your song which allows each instrument to sit well with every other instrument.

5) Compression is confusing to me... I use mostly presets - This isn't perse advice... I'm just admitting something I have less experience with.

6) In general, bass is best in mono.

7) Compression, Maximizers, and Limiters are what typically help your overall master track.

Again, this is just what I have learned... This is not the gospel. I am new to this, and do not claim to be an expert. However, after I started using my ears instead of having some cookie cutter recipe my mixing/mastering improved greatly. I hope this helps you new guys!

What do you guys think?

All valid points - I've learned these tips as I went along. Still learning.
We should get the "treat your room" comments shortly :)

Do your eqing on the way in through mic placement, on your guitar amp, on your guitar, by tuning your drums, etc.
Remember what you had to EQ last time and fix it at the source the next time.

I agree mit Dem Swartz. Learning to track is something that I learned that is really important.

Tracking is pretty straight forward. Sing into the mic, stick a mic in front of your best speaker, 4 mics on the drums, direct feed your keyboard.