Multiband Compression

DrunkPete

Hi guys,

I'm new to this site so please forgive me if I've missed any forum rules. Quick question...not so quick answer I'm afraid. How do you use a multiband compressor? I'm a novice-moderate level as far as recording goes. I've recorded and mixed tons of songs. However I'm looking to master some also. My mixes are clean and even. I've left around 3-5db headroom and haven't put any compression on the "final" stereo mix. (there is of course compression on drums, guitars, vox, etc). I've done the entire thing in ProTools, and have tons of plugs. I was planning on mastering the stereo mix in ProTools as well since I have the C4 plug along with the L1 limiter and some decent EQs (Q10, Rennisance sp?).

Now I've searched forever for tips on mastering, but it's always the same answer "step 1 - EQ to add clarity, air, etc - roll off everything below 40Hz, notch out 150HZ, yada yada yada...(fine..no prob), step 2 - "use some multiband compression on your mix" (now i'm stumped...exactly how? I know how to use regular compression...but adding in the extra options eludes me. Is there any literature that anyone knows of to fully explain HOW to use multiband compression?), step 3 -"maximize" your mix. (no prob, i'll use the L1 to bring it up)

I tried using the C4 pre-sets, but it still doesn't sound right...

Also, any other advice on Mastering would be appreciated...
Anyway, thanks in advance for your help!

I've only used a multi-band compressor on a full stereo mix, myself. It seems to let you adjust settings for different sound spectrums (?). The one I have used has settings to compress teh highs, mids, and lows, seperately. Not sure how peoper this is, but that's what I have done with it...
Ed

imagine a strange world where you take a track, split it into two idenical tracks.