Monitor speaker problems

rob aylestone

I juist noticed we don't have loudspeakers as a forum heading anywhere? I'll post it here, but off there is a better place - mods, feel free to move it.

I have been mixing on the same set of loudspeakers since 1990. 28 years on one set of speakers - Celestions, if anyone is interested. I liked their sound then, and still do, and while they have a more traditional British sound, the important thing is that I never have to think about my mixes - I know what I hear, and I know it works on the kinds of material I work on, and where it gets played - which is mainly on stage. Think tracks really - for people to use for no band to full band purposes. I've blown one up this afternoon. I can buy new drivers (I popped the HF unit and it's dead and the LF driver now buzzes and vibrates and is very quiet, so I think a turn has probably shorted. My own fault - I swapped a drum VST for a new and untried one, and didn't notice I had prodded a solo button on the mixer I use to sum various devices, including the computer interface. I pressed play, and got nothing, so shoved up the master. Still nothing - the music playing dead space at the end of the song WITH THE LOOP ON. I spotted the solo and released it - still silence, so figured it was the rewatching I'd done, so I moved to the patch bay - and then the loop started the track, with everything on full and the big drum fill at the top of the song lit every red light going, and by the time I got to the faders, the right speaker was dead.

I can replace the drivers, but it means replacing both speakers, and of course the crossover is tired too, so do I start looking for a second hand pair that will sound exactly the same and mean no changes for my ears - or do I buy something more contemporary? I hadn't budgeted for this but I can probably stretch to whatever is needed?

Last edited:
Which model of Celestions Rob and what are you driving them with?