Mixing a whole drum kit that's in one stereo track

Massacre23

Hey guys, complete noobie here so I do apologise if this has been asked a thousand times and such.

Just wondering if anyone's had any experience in mixing a drum track that's in a single stereo track form. The little desk I've been using ( Behringer 1002 xenyx) only outs as stereo through usb, due to this I'm having a little trouble mixing it, has anyone got any tips if at all?

Cheers

If all the drums are on a single stereo track, there is nothing to mix. The only thing you can do to change the relative volumes of each drum would be to use EQ and compression to accentuate or de-accentuate certain instruments.

Basically, you have to get the mix right BEFORE it gets bounced to stereo.

That's what I feared, sadly the desk I'm using only has dedicated 3 bands on the 2 channels I have the over heads in, as they're the only 2 that kick out phantom.

I've only really been playing with compressors and Eq anyway just down them being the only tools I really have at my disposal in this situation. Any tips you could give me for crispy sound that still cuts through a mix at all? I knows it pretty far fetched but a stereo track is all I have to really work with unfortunately.

Cheers for the swift reply btw.

If you know that you want to brighten the kick and snare, but only have EQ on the overheads, you could try using the EQ to make the overheads darker, so when you brighten up the stereo track, the overheads don't end up overly bright.

Without getting an interface that lets you record all the mics separately, you will just have to experiment with ideas like that.

I would start by taking the stereo track I have, deciding what I needed to do to make the kick and snare sound right, and then seeing if it made the overhead sound bad or out of place. If so, then I would do what I had to do on the overhead input channels to counteract what you know you will be doing to the stereo tack later in the mix.