Mixing in stereo is the easy way out

ste20man

Hi.

I recently read a quote by Geoff Emerick that said 'Mixing in stereo is the easy way out'.

He was referring to the fact that when you mix in mono you can't get clarity of an instrument by shifting it to one side of the mix or the other.

I'm still quite new to this but it seems to make sense to me and I would like to hear my music in mono. The problem is is that I'm not sure how to achieve that. I'm not sure if it is something that I should do inside my DAW on something that is on my USB interface.

I'm using FL Studio and am using a Focusrite Saffire 6 interface, .pdf below.

Saffire 6 USB Audio Interfaces - 2 IN / 4 OUT USB audio interface featuring two Focusrite preamps

I'm hoping that someone will know how to achieve this and has the time to explain it to a noob. I'd really appreciate it.

Cheers, Ste. :guitar:

I don't really understand the quote, but I guess that doesn't matter.

I'm not familiar with FL Studio. Some DAWs have a mono button on the master fader that will sum everything to mono.
Other than that, if you have all of your tracks panned center, your mix is essentially mono.
The only real reason to hear your mix in mono nowadays is to check for phase issues. It's unlikely that anyone else will ever hear your mix in mono.

The only real reason to hear your mix in mono nowadays is to check for phase issues. It's unlikely that anyone else will ever hear your mix in mono.

Phase issues is about the only reason I check my mix in mono as well. Major artists will want mixes where they can be shifted mono and sound good if they were to be played on radio or somehting like that (especially in department stores, etc.). But yeah, the only reason I do mono nowdays is for phase checking and correction.