Mixing a live show... using a daw.

Spazhands

'ere mate
Well almost. I am a live sound engineer at my local venue and I have been tasked with mixing an outside show for a small festival. I am limited to certain outboard gear, which doesn't consist of any effects units.
. I will be using a Yamaha mg24 desk, so analogue.
. Here is my plan, I would like some compression, gate, eq and other such things at my disposal. So I was thinking about using my recording rig with reaper for this. I have an emu 1820m and could use the effects within reaper as inserts on certain channels eg kick, vocals etc. I have a maximum of 6 "inserts". I have done the routing at home and seems viable. Can anyone see any issues with doing this besides the reliability.. But then I could just pull the insert cables from the channels should the pc throw a wobble. I have used this system for recording for years and it only froze up once.

What do ya think?

Well almost. I am a live sound engineer at my local venue and I have been tasked with mixing an outside show for a small festival. I am limited to certain outboard gear, which doesn't consist of any effects units.
. I will be using a Yamaha mg24 desk, so analogue.
. Here is my plan, I would like some compression, gate, eq and other such things at my disposal. So I was thinking about using my recording rig with reaper for this. I have an emu 1820m and could use the effects within reaper as inserts on certain channels eg kick, vocals etc. I have a maximum of 6 "inserts". I have done the routing at home and seems viable. Can anyone see any issues with doing this besides the reliability.. But then I could just pull the insert cables from the channels should the pc throw a wobble. I have used this system for recording for years and it only froze up once.

What do ya think?

I would go for it, given that you have a neat contingency in place. I would be more nervous if you were using the PC to do all the mixing, rather than just for adding effects.