Mixing goal: flattness or colorization?

JeffF

I am just learning of mixing (instructional DVD series), so the following request for insight may very well shape my future mixing process/goal, please assist . . .

My equipment sales rep (of sound engineering education) stated that I should not be too surgical about EQ'ing (in terms of getting flat signaling) but rather try to finish a "musically colorized" mix--arbitrary, of course, in term, so let's set that aside, please.

Important to my need of understanding, whether end-users' playback is on better shelf or car speakers, or low-end headphones/ear buds or computer speakers, do each have something of designed colorization that requires uncolored (flat) mixes to translate well?

Does playback format, like MP3 and WAV, play a role in choosing whether to mix toward flatness rather than colorization?

I respectfully realize there is much more to mixing, but resolving this initial dilemma is pivotal in how I approach mixing for the expected range of end users' devices and formats, likely as above mentioned.

Thanks very much, JeffF.

Last edited:
Jeff,

I'm no expert on mixing yet either but from what I understand, consumer devices such as headphones, speakers, car audio systems, ect. playback a different (usually narrower) range of frequencies than your studio monitors or mixing headphones. This is why many people who mix music will listen to their mix in their car, on a cheap set of speakers, or on Ipod headphones throughout the process. However, I have heard of some headphone brands actually adding color intentionally. I believe the popular Beats by Dre are one such set and the difference is most notable in the low end.

As for playback format, that is beyond my knowledge and I'll leave it to one of the people on here who know this subject far better than I do.