Mixing 5 guitars!

TommyBoy

Hi,
I'm new to this board and I'm also pretty new to producing music, so now I have a question:

I've recorded a Metal song that consists of drums, bass, 2 rhythm guitars and 1 lead guitar (+vocals but I haven't recorded them yet).

Now I don't have many problems when just the drums, bass and rhythms guitars play together. But there's one part in the song, when there are 2 additional guitars playing. One of them is playing a melody, the other one is playing harmonies to that melody, so I've got 2 rhythm guitars (both distorted), 1 lead guitar playing a solo and then these 2 additional guitars (also both distorted) playing together. It's kinda like in the last part of Sanitarium by Metallica, when they're playing rhythm, that harmonized melody and then also the last solo kicks in.
It's just too many guitars playing together, but I think there has to be a possibility to make that sound well.

I think the main problem is that it's getting too loud that at point. While the levels are fine during the rest of the song, that part is really getting very loud. Sure, I could lower the volume on the whole song but I don't want to decrease the volume of the earlier parts of the song that much, because they seem about right.

Here's how I panned everything:

Kick and snare: center
Hi-Hats: About 40% left and right
Cymbals: About 50% left and right
Toms: Left, center, right
Bass: center
Rhythm Guitar 1: 60% left
Rhythm Guitar 2: 60% right
Lead guitar (solos): center
"Melody" guitar: 10% left (or maybe 20%)
"Harmony" guitar: 10% right (or 20%)

I've recorded everything in stereo.

So, does anyone have any hints on panning, EQing and setting levels, especially during that one part? Would be much appreciated!
Thanks in advance.

Hey I am a newb myself, but maybe I can offer some insight...