making the bass prominent?

mahuebel

ok... so i've been recording off and on for about 2 years now, but i only know what i know from experimenting and reading online eq tips and stuff (which isnt always the best advice)
i'm finally getting my mixes a little clearer, however, the kick drum and bass guitar arent as prominent as i would like them to be. heres a song as an example of what im talking about: Be With You
the bass has a boost at 100hz and some boosts in the mid range, as well as a boost at around 2.5Khz. the kick has a boos at 80, the mid is scooped out and then another boost at 4khz. now how do i make it so you can hear the bass and kick, and not bass out normal speakers?

As a whole, I thought everything else in the mix sounded pretty decently mixed. But, the overall "bass" in the track was lacking, kick and bass. (listening on average computer speakers with no sub). With that in mind, why not bring everything else "down" in the mix instead of bringing the bass up ? This might be an easy way to do what you are looking for.

What you are monitoring on may be a problem for evaluating good bass (I wish I had brought in my AKG headphones). What is your set up ?

While 80 Hz adds some low ooomf to the kick, it might not be where the majority of your meat is for your kick drum. It seems you are looking for some punch and more definition to the kick. Try some higher frequencies above 80 Hz. You might want to bring in a low shelf around 60 (low presence) and a gentle boost at the meat, i.e., 125-200 Hz (kicking). Find the bip, where-ever that is. So it seems a 3 band eq is what you want for the bass.

Use a Q of say 1, and roll it around to find where your meat is, and where the click or bip of the kick is as well, and what low roll off gives you that low bass presence.

Fool around with some compression on the kick track too. You might find that some good compression evens it all out and adds punch.