Learning the Ropes - Narrow Sounds

sjdean

Hi,

Im a bit of a noob to mixing and mastering. Having written a couple of songs that Im quite happy with, I now want to mix and master. Considered farming it out to someone else, but I think I'd get a lot more fun to do it myself. So Im slowly learning but trying to quickly get to grips with everything. Im going to try and keep it away from newbie questions like what's a limiter or compressor or where to set bands for multiband compression - I can Google those.

To let you know what Im using, Im using Acoustica Mixcraft 6, iZotope Nectar 2, Ozone 5 and Alloy 4 for Vocals, Mastering and Mixing. I have a pair of M-Audio BX5-D2 speakers.

I bought the speakers as I couldn't get great results from the Behringer head phones I had - I felt they were too bassy. I have some in ear headphones whcih gave similar results to the car speakers as a way of testing but felt it too much of a hassle to keep running to the car with my memory stick so bought the speakers.

I get great results on the monitors, but when playing back in the car, I notice one of two issues. The sound - especially the guitar and vocals are too squashed. Not in terms of compression or headroom or anything, but in terms of a narrow band. It sounds like everything is in the middle and going through a tin can, sort of a prominent 500Hz to 1000Hz which is making things sound a bit "horny" and very flat. Scooping out that range just really makes it sound off. Im sorting it out slowly adding more "air" applying more db at higher EQ arounnd 5khz plus. I gather 500Hz to 1000Hz is low mid?