I want my kick drum to kick ***.

BillyBenson

So I'm up working on this track, and I made sure the kick drum came through the mix via eq while creating the instrumental, but after I laid the vocals down they all got in the way, so I bussed all the vox to a bus and cut where I boost the kick. THe kick was coming through where the lead vocal stood solo, but when a background vocal kicked in the kick seemed to lose its impact.
My solution was to cut each individual vocal track in the same place. After I did this everything was fine. The kick drum now shines through the mix, but I feel like... that's wrong? Should I really have to cut the kick in all those tracks? Why isn't bussing them and doing one cut enough? I didn't go to school for this, but I work on this stuff all the time in my room trying to find new tricks because I just want my mixes to be great. This would really help me out, guys.

I am no expert, but maybe some clarification might help here. When you say your vocals were clashing with your kick, are you referring to the "snap" of the kick? Typcially the kick will have 2 components, a BOOM and a SNAP, the BOOM typically lives in the 100-30hz range, and the SNAP usually somewhere up in the 1-2k range (the experts on here can correct where I am off on this).

Point is, not sure the vocal should ever conflict with the BOOM, so it could be the "snap". There are some ways to solve this either with EQ, ducking, or other techniques, but not sure what the actual problem is.

However, the other big question I am sure folks may ask is around your monitors. It also may be something to do with the range of your monitoring solution, and how pumping lows through them may impact their ability to accurately reproduce the other mid range stuff.