I get more reverb after compression

Moon_Raven

Hello!

I am a newbie to recording and am trying to learn some of the basics of mixing. I tried to learn how a compressor works, so I played a few punchy tones on the guitar and recorded them. After using some compression, the biggest difference I hear is that sound gets much more reverby, compared to before using a compressor. Why is it so? Is it because the compressor killed only the loud parts, which is the actual tone, and didn't kill the reverb too because the level of reverb is way below treshold?

Thanks in advance!

Depending on your amp setup, your guitar may well already be compressed, so any further compression you apply will affect all of the guitar part (and might explain why you're getting your current effect).

Try using the compressor on a more dynamic instrument (like vocals) or amp settings to better display how the compressor works.

Hey, thanks for the quick response!

I did not use any compression on my amp. I turned the reverb off now and experimented a bit with that, but what am I supposed to do when I actually want to record the guitar, and use reverb? Should I add reverb only in my DAW, and use no reverb from my amp?

Hey, thanks for the quick response!

I did not use any compression on my amp. I turned the reverb off now and experimented a bit with that, but what am I supposed to do when I actually want to record the guitar, and use reverb? Should I add reverb only in my DAW, and use no reverb from my amp?

If you use high gain, then the guitar sound is compressed. I would record dry and add reverb later, but there are no rules and if you want the sound of the reverb from your amp, use it. Just don't add compression that over emphasises it.

---------- Update ----------

It might be best to post the sounds before and after applying the compression so we can give better advice.