How would you handle this difficult situation?

4tracker

I'm working on several projects, one is an old recording bandmates did straight into a boombox with cassette. We were a zero budget high school punk band. So it's an awful recording, with guitar, vocal, and sometimes bass all playing at once into a boombox mic. There is a ton of low end from the bass, and then the opposite problem of shrill/harsh guitar on the upper end. Obviously EQ (cut the low, and notch the 5k region) helps a lot, but is there any other trick? Also, the vocals are very low on several tracks.

I'm new to mixing and teaching myself as I go.

I'm reading about parallel compression. Would this help in my situation? Mainly, would it boost the low vocal, which I could then mix into the original track to regain some transients? Is there any trick or tip you guys have to help with poorly recorded material like this?

To recap, the three problems are:

1. Low vocals
2. Loud bass
3. Shrill guitars

What is difficult is all are on 1 track.

2 and 3 can mostly be resolved with EQ.

..I'm reading about parallel compression. Would this help in my situation? Mainly, would it boost the low vocal, which I could then mix into the original track to regain some transients? Is there any trick or tip you guys have to help with poorly recorded material like this?

To recap, the three problems are:

1. Low vocals
2. Loud bass
3. Shrill guitars

What is difficult is all are on 1 track.

2 and 3 can mostly be resolved with EQ.
The basic is that any compression (straight or 'parallel) brings up all lower level stuff -relative to what you had. How do you get it to target mostly just the vocal? Maybe, if you can get lucky with finding it in a specific freq band?

Without hearing it (which would be really helpful)...