Help with guitar mixing

GustafAngus

Hello!

I am in a crossover grindcore band, it's in no way a ultra serious band, but I still take the time to record guitar, drums, bass etc and I like to take the time to mix them. Currently in my mix, I am satisfied with the drums and bass, but I just CANNOT get any guitar to sound good. I am terrible at it. We record guitar directly in to a Behringer UMC 204HD. The signal is clean and sounds very crisp. But whatever I mix, I get terrible results. The guitar sounds almost muffled and distant. I will upload a demo tomorrow when I have time.
I understand as a hobbyist, I cannot hope to achieve Metallica - level mixes. I am being realistic. I am however, still searching for a way to get my tone decently heavy while not sounding too harsh. Something as a goal would be Municipal Waste: Mind Eraser. I think it's a very heavy and punchy tone but I could hear it's not ultra clean so it's probably something I could achieve with some time behind the computer.

Again, the band is grindcore/party thrash so I'm not looking for the cleanest tone possible. Just something that sounds heavy and punchy.
I currently own Revalver Mk. III and I think I still have a CD of Guitar rig 5 someone gave to me. What is some general advice to get to where I wanna go?

Any ideas?

I’m not sure what you’re saying here.

So, you like the clean signal from the Behringer. Then what?

Are you adding a plugin to the guitar and don’t like that sound? Do you not like the clean signal when you hear it with the rest of the instruments? You also can’t upload a demo until you have 10 posts here, FYI.

It’s situations like this that is a reason why people prefer micing guitar amps rather than plugging in direct.

Yup^^^ Mic the amp. Get the sound you want out of an amp, then figure out how to capture that well, will be a lot less hassle than try to add plugins to a clean guitar signal in your DAW and trying to get it where you want.

More info please.