Headroom

Pleasurehead

Hi,

I'M an amateur home recorder with cubase SX and just wondered if anyone can help me on the subject of head room when mixing. My problem is ... I start the mix with my master fader down slightly but by the time I have bass and kick someway (conservatively) how I would like them sounding, I'M already clipping. Is there a recommended amount under 0db that I should start with before I begin to limit? And, is there a definate no no amount that will bring up noise levels?

Any help would appreciated thanks :)

:cool:Yo Happy Head:

Well,
"headroom" is part of the quality of gear you use to record. Bouncing the sound levels up to the "edge" of clipping works most of the time.

It depends on what track you wish to dominate the mix. There is no formula to jazzing up the mix. It is a product of your gear and ears and recording experience.

I find myself illuminating the drum patches on my work because, I guess, I always wanted to be a drummer. But, I take care not to "blast" the other tracks out of the mix.

A big asset is a "good" pair of monitors; now, you don't need to mortgage your kids on monitors; however, a decent pair will help you get the "clear" image of what will pop up on the mix.

I find that my car six speaker system really produces a high quality reproduction of what I mix; however, too much, "UmmPH" with compression can hurt a mix, as well as make a mix a GOOD one.

Just keep experimenting and when you get a "good one," you'll keep on getting good ones.

Green Hornet:cool::rolleyes:

I'M an amateur home recorder with cubase SX and just wondered if anyone can help me on the subject of head room when mixing. My problem is ... I start the mix with my master fader down slightly but by the time I have bass and kick someway (conservatively) how I would like them sounding, I'M already clipping. Is there a recommended amount under 0db that I should start with before I begin to limit?