Headphone Choice

JDOD

therecordingrebels.com
Afternoon gents,

I don't normally post in this part of the forum but here I go.

I don't have access or the space to get a proper pair of monitors - my recording gear is all connected to my stereo and TV in my living room. I do all my mixing/monitoring through headphones, then occasionally listen back on other platforms.

Listening back to all my guitar tracks is done through headphones, I'm sitting in a room with a blaring amp listening to what the mic is capturing through headphones etc.

What I'm after is a set of headphones that a) don't colour the tone at all, and b) are half decent at noise cancelling. Although the noise cancelling is less important.

Absolute limit of budget would be £100; I'm not a pro or a massive audio snob - I've used cheap unbranded headphones and technics headphones in the past which were all under £30.

I've never really researched what makes a good set of headphones and don't know what you'd expect to get for your money.

Is the information in this link relatively correct and relatively in-date with regard to brands:
Best Studio Headphones: The Ultimate Guide for 2015

Last edited:
I wouldn't go with that list AFA those being the 7 "best"...etc.

For mixing (I assume, since you say no color) you want open-back...and one set that is not on that list that I would pick over any of the ones on the list...are the Fostex T50RP. Excellent wide range, high quality sounding phones...and they are not going to break the bank.

AFA closed-back...the Senn HD280 are supposed to be a great choice and a decent price.
IMO, for closed-back phones, which are going to be mostly used for tracking, you don't really need to drop= a lot of cash on something esoteric.