Having trouble getting the mix just right!

Kewlpack

Hi guys -

Brand new to HR BBS. Gotta question I hope you can help me with. I'm relatively new to mixing/home recording and ripping hair out by the handfuls trying to get this stuff to sound great.

I have been working on mixing a song recently that has 3 guitar tracks and a simply piano/drum backing track. I have attempted to mix about 10 variations but none have the instrumental distinction or clarity that I want (I hope for!).

Would you please listen to the song (it's short) and try to identify what is causing the problem(s)?

What things can I try in order to get this to sound "great" (I've only been playing guitar for about two years so please forgive any goofs)?

Hoping for some great insight! Please let me know how to fix the mix!
~A~

Oh... lots of no-no's...

Mmm - good stuff.

This part jumped off the page at me:

I strongly suggest you adopt the subtractive EQ approach - cut instead of boost. If there are too few highs, remove some mids or bass to shape it .... and.... Overuse of effects results in muddy, poorly-defined mixes, so much like EQ - less is usually more.
:cool:

I laid down all of my tracks using the amps effects! Hmmm guess that is a NO NO for recording (i.e. do it afteward)! After that I was using the Parametric EQ to bump various frequencies (doh). To be honest, I'm MUCH more comfortable with a graphic EQ than this Parametric beast (I don't understand it much - HELP!)... :eek:

Guess I gotta a whole lot of playing to redo... :(