Hand arm fatigue with mouse & pointer

KeithPartridge

Hey guys
I sometimes spend up to 16 hours behind my desktop editing. Does anyone know of a good ergonomic desktop DAW controller for Ableton and Reason... I'm using both rewired? Using the mouse & pointer is so time consuming and was figuring there's got to be another way.
Cheers
Keith

Not sure if will be better for you...but I use a trackball. It's a Logitech M570, wireless, and it has a couple of extra programmable buttons. So...you don't have to keep moving it around like a mouse...of course, it takes a bit getting use to the trackball, and moving it with your thumb...but I've been suing trackballs for almost 20 years now...and find them very comfortable.

Also...use your keyboard, and program as many keystrokes as your DAW allows.
I have my left hand on the keyboard and my right hand on the trackball...and I can do all kinds of moves in the DAW without really moving my hands around.

And...make sure they are at the right height for your arms/hands. That also means you need to have a good chair that is properly positioned for the desk. It should feel as comfortable as when you are driving your car.

Confirming Miro's advice. I have a trackball also and I use keyboard shortcuts a lot.

But!! 16 hours at the computer can't be good. Give yourself breaks. Get out of the chair and move around. Go for a walk. It's good for your arm, it's good for your circulation and definitely good for your mixes. Gets you away from the song for a little while and refreshes your ears.

Thought about moving this to the computer section, but I think this really is more about mixing than computers.

Hey guys
I sometimes spend up to 16 hours behind my desktop editing. Does anyone know of a good ergonomic desktop DAW controller for Ableton and Reason... I'm using both rewired? Using the mouse & pointer is so time consuming and was figuring there's got to be another way.
Cheers
Keith