Getting the basics - some help for someone new to mixing!

PhilLondon

Hey all!

I've always just been happy with recording via VSTs just for the fun of it, and to be able to listen back and use DAWs as loopers and for basic demos and stuff, but I got a Kemper about a year ago aside from using it live I've started using it to record my stuff, and it really is a great tool so I want to start to make my recordings sound more professional and learn more in general.

I'm happy with the tone I've been recording, and I've been making sure my recorded level is at -12 to -18dB to ensure I've got enough headroom, and I feel that they are starting to sound somewhat balanced in relation to the instruments around them, and now I feel that I want to understand how to EQ, as I'm very new to it, and how to make my mixes louder and more polished sounding. I have not been concerned with volume, and have just been turning my monitors up, but now I want to be able to use the compression and limiter plugins to make the mix a louder and rounded, and learn how to EQ each instrument/part so that it sits in the mix better, but I really have no idea about it all.

I get that compression is meant to make everything the same volume, to stop peaks, but I don't get the parameters or how and when to implement them (on the output bus, on the input bus?), and the same goes for limiters (brick wall? I can't get it to do that), and that EQing basically allows you to make sure that each instrument occupies the space that it is dominant in, and cuts out the bits that don't really contribute to the sound and could cause other instruments to be swallowed up by, but that's really the extent of it.

Can you point me to some resources that can explain how to EQ and how to use compressors, limiters etc. Or anything else that I should know.

I'm using Logic Pro X with a Scarlett 18i8 via SPDIF. I've got a 15 inch Macbook Pro 2.5GHz (2014).

Thanks.