Essential studio rack equipment?

SubLunar

I have been slowly building up my modest home studio for several years now. I play guitar (drums, keyboard, etc) and since my various bands fell through I have become a one-man band with my computer. I am a college student and am looking for some reasonably priced rack equipment.

I have some decent equipment (Mackie 32.8, M-Audio Delta 1010 on a sweet custom built computer, etc) and as a result, my friend's band has asked me to record their CD in my studio. I do have enough equipment to do it and I think it has the potential to sound pretty good, but I have never recorded a band before and I'm a little intimidated...

I have a graphic EQ and a cheaper digitech "studio quad" effects unit in my rack, but I want to know:

What are some home studio staples in the rack?

What rack units are a must have in this line of work?

I appreciate any feedback on this.

You have a Mackie 8bus and you use your computer to record? :eek: How unnecessary.

Anyways, assuming your friend's band plays rock music, you'll want at least one good stereo compressor and limiter. DBX makes affordable units. ART gear is great quality for the price as well. A noise gate would be helpful, and some reverb units couldn't hurt either.

However, you use a computer to record. There's no question that outboard signal processors are better than computer plugins, but they are not always necessary. You could get away with using only computer plugins for processing if you want to save some money.

You have a Mackie 8bus and you use your computer to record? :eek: How unnecessary.

What do you mean? Do you suggest plugging the Mackie straight into a CD burner or something?

I like the computer because I can write as I go along and don't have to waste CD's or other recording media. On the computer I can delete or completely rearrange things as I see fit...