Do I really need to learn mixing and/or equalization?

Cyath

I have an idea for a YT channel where I put up some covers I am planning on doing. I was thinking of learning some mixing and equalization, but then I run into the only 24 hours a day problem (I am a full-time student) I love learning new things, but I am not sure if I really need to mix my audio.

Basically, will learning it make my recordings sound better? (I know that better is relative...)

I'm pretty confident of my singing voice, and from what little I know of audio technology, it's better to start good and then tweak it from there.

That depends. How are you recording the covers?

- A stereo backing track to which you add vocals?

- Instruments recorded on separate tracks?

Hey,
That really just depends on what you want to hear, and how you plan to record.

If you're capturing a live performance, particularly with a single microphone, then your options are limited anyway.
'Mixing' isn't really an option there but a basic understanding of broad-strokes eq might be useful.

If, on the other hand, you're capturing multiple instruments separately, or putting separate mics on various things, then it would make sense to mix what you've got.
What happens there can be as simple, or as complicated, as you want.

Plenty of people just pop up a mic and a camera and document a live performance. There's nothing wrong with that, if it's what you're aiming for.

Tell us about your intended approach and expected outcome. :)

I have an idea for a YT channel where I put up some covers I am planning on doing. I was thinking of learning some mixing and equalization, but then I run into the only 24 hours a day problem (I am a full-time student) I love learning new things, but I am not sure if I really need to mix my audio.

Basically, will learning it make my recordings sound better? (I know that better is relative...)