Cymbal Panning Help In Superior Drummer!

JohnnyAmato

Hi all, I hope I'm posting this in the right place. I'm still very new to Superior Drummer, so please bear with me.

It seems Superior Drummer by default has all the cymbals panned hard left and hard right. Doesn't sound horrible, but it is definitely quite noticeable in the few recordings I've done so far. I've watched a few YouTube vids and got a little advice in the mp3 forum, but I would like to hear some more input. I've been messing with it all night on my main kit that I have saved, and it seems there's a few different ways it can be done. Not sure which is the most "correct" way though.

Do you create new cymbals as X-drums and then give them their own channel/mic? I was first trying that, and it was working, but as soon as I would create a 3rd cymbal, it would then route them all to the newest mic channel and disengage the other new ones I made. Happened 3 times in a row. Hence I couldn't individually pan them anymore.

I then noticed that my "Amb Close" mic, which is always off, also has all the kit pieces, so I turned off the cymbals in the OHs and turned them all on in the "Amb Close" mic. They sound the same quality-wise and aren't panned as hard left and right anymore. But that can't be the right approach, since cymbals should be in the OHs. I'm running in circles and not sure what to do. Not asking for secrets, but I would like to hear some examples of how some of you approach it.

Any help/suggestions?

Hey, don't you see these cymbal panning options? You're using SD and not EZD, right? Different kits within the SD lineup have different mic and panning defaults. This is my default setup for The Rock Warehouse expansion kit. I'm pretty sure the NY Avatar stock kit has the same.

SD - cymbals.jpg

(I tested out the image to make sure it didn't stay so small. Keep clicking it and it'll enlarge, eventually.)