Buried Snare in Mastering

o0Charlie0o

I always get some really great mixes going on during mix down but when it comes to the mastering process I find that when I get to the final hard limiting type process (using Waves L2) I loose my snare to the background and the overall reverb levels come way up. In the past I've always just gone back and changed levels to compensate but It still sacrafices the over all sound I was orginally going for with the snare.

In other words I have a great snare on a mix, but when I go for the master it goes downhill. Everything else sounds great and loud. Anyone else come across this or know some basic starting points to fixing this?

Is it something I should be doing in the mix so it won't catch in the mastering process even though it sounds great in the mix? I'm looking to get the snare pretty up front in the final master and also not have a huge reverb washout (which isn't present in the actual mix)

Thanks!
Charlie

I'm no mastering engineer, but it sounds like you may be using a multiband compressor that is accidentally compressing your snare out of your mix. Try to isolate that frequency range and raise your compression level up on that band.

Again, I'm not a mastering engineer, and I may be totally wrong.

If your use of the limiter (or any step in the "mastering" process for that matter) is somehow changing the sound of the mix in a way that you think is detrimental ... then that's a big red flag that you're way over-doing it.

That's what happens when you compress and/or limit things too much. You lose a lot of the dynamic element, and the percussion is a big part of that dynamic element. That's where terms like "squashed" come from. I will do you a favor, Charlie, and I will use this term in relevent context:

"oOCharleOo just squashed the living daylights out of his mix, and now his snare sounds like dog shit."