Behringer VS. Mackie..opinions please...

Heat

I am trying to purchase a small mixer for my home studio. I am doing digital recording...and have never before used an external mixer.

I have narrowed my choices betweeen a Behringer MX 1804x, or a Mackie CFX series.

At this point I am not to concerned with number of inputs, outputs, returns, etc. The comparison I am looking for, is wich brand is least noisiest and has better sound quality. Both of these models also contain onboard signal processing wich is also cool...anyone like one over the other for this reason????

Like I mentioned before, I have never used an external mixer before, and I am looking for low noise, and good overall quality....I am also not opposed to any other brands you guys have tried any liked in the >$500 range.....

Thanks for your advice,

Heat

my tascam tmd-1000 is so quiet I cant even tell that its on. and its digital, so your converters are set away from your noisy (rf speaking) computer... and so on. It also has onboard effects, including dynamics.

xoxoxo

Hello.I can tell you from personal experience that Behringer makes some great sounding stuff(awesome prices too).I've never tried a Mackie board though,but I've heard allot of people have been unhappy with them.
My advice-trust your ears.If you have a guitar center or a local music store close go check em out and see what sounds the best to you.