Basic Effect Questions for the Newbie

Nola

OPs (Snowman's) question is actually post #2. Thread got moved and messed up.

Last edited:
I'm not a newbie newbie. But, I still do things with trial and error (which is honestly the worst way of working). If you have a clue, you hear a problem and know how to fix it. So, I have just a few questions that will go a long way to bettering a person who is just starting out mixing.

The majority of musicians use Drums/Bass/Guitar/Keyboards/Vocals on their songs. So, lets stick with them. Let's assume that the recording quality is fine, and we're not looking for drastic changes in the sounds (like adding wah wah to a guitar that's been recorded. Or making a vocal sound like it's coming through a loudspeaker) EQ and reverb I'd say are the major effects used for most of these.

1) Are there any other effects that are used? Are there any effects used specifically for any of the instruments?

2) There are many responses that DB and HZ are off. If you have a great ear, you can hear it. Is there a way to visually see the DB or HZ? If so, how?

Thanks. Looking forward to better mixing with confidence and knowledge.

Excerpt from the deleted thread.
Nola said:
1. Many will say only EQ, compress, or reverb (or any effect) only if it needs it, so you have to develop an ear and taste for what you like. But that being said I think bass and vocal should always have some compression b/c they fluctuate so much. Vocal should always have reverb, even if it's just a little, because in real life a singer is never directly in our ear. Try to think in terms of what would happen in a real room or the real world, unless you're going for a special effect. E.g. Jesus and Mary Chain use huge chamber drums for effect, even though they record in small rooms.