Aux Questions

sibleypeck

As a young man of twenty-five, I was fortunate to have an opportunity to work along side Huey Meaux, Mickey Moody and Freddy Fender at Sugarhill Studios in Houston, TX. And though my duties there consisted of cleaning the studios and chaufferring people, I got to observe a lot of sessions and became superficially acquainted with professional recording procedures. I even got a chance to record a few of my own songs, working by myself, but never got far enough along to learn anything of true value.
I left Sugarhill in 1981, and ever since have dreamed of having a studio of my own. With the advent of digital technology, this dream is becoming a reality, though on the smallest of scales.

I have been working with Cakewalk Pro Audio 8 for almost two years now, spending that entire time on a single project, and I am at a point in the learning curve where I am able to ask a reasonably intelligent question.
The HR Forum has been my only contact with people of similar interests, and has already helped me to overcome one pesky roadblock - the inability to apply EQ to MIDI tracks, by converting them first to audio tracks. This provides enormous flexibility in controlling the sound of the mix, and I have had great fun in experimenting with it. Now, for the first time, I feel like I am finding out what mixing is all about, which raises questions of a different order.