SFX Levels for Video Games

Captain Whisky

Hey folks, I'm currently making some sound effects and music for a mobile/web browser video game. I have all kinds of things being created such as UI SFX (clicks etc), character noises, music, punches etc etc. Only thing I have no idea what levels I should be mastering them to and how to find out. I'm currently working on the monster vocals, screeches, roars etc. I was going to let them peak at around 0 with a limiter but I actually have no idea what to do to be honest? Was hoping somebody could give me some guidance in this area, all the best.

First off, I have no real experience in the video game industry, but two thoughts come to mind: 1) if you're creating sounds for a customer, ask them for a spec. 2) If they don't know, then I say compare to commercially released pop music. Sound bits and effects will probably have different transients and RMS values, but you can probably get it close just by using your ears.

I'm curious to hear what others suggest.

Completely agree with Chili but, in addition, I don't think I'd be going anywhere near zero or using a limiter unless the spec dictated that I should.

If they're expecting masters from you ask for a spec or, if they're not, just leave healthy sensible room as you would if you were providing recordings of an instrument for someone else to mix into a song.

I'm just "+1'ing" both posts above. Ask for a spec (it's probably -24dB(FS)RMS) and if in doubt, keep quality headroom at every possible stage.

I would assume in any case, even approaching -0dBFS is going to be far above where you want to be...

Simple determination -- Hook up a popular video game (assuming you have one) -- Check the levels. Average, peak, crest factor -- and go from there.