Master Is Frustrating me!

Joe Hadfeld

Im a somewhat noob in this recording world, but i have recorded a few things that turned out great. Im working on a song with a buddy of mine and everything sounds great in the mix... everytime i master it, it comes out sounding like its in a tin can. Treble from hell. What am i doing wrong?!?

www.myspace.com/wearelastcall the song is called "Realize"

Im a somewhat noob in this recording world, but i have recorded a few things that turned out great. Im working on a song with a buddy of mine and everything sounds great in the mix... everytime i master it, it comes out sounding like its in a tin can. Treble from hell. What am i doing wrong?!?

www.myspace.com/wearelastcall the song is called "Realize"

OK, I'm going to be Captain Frickin' Obvious here, but........Could it be your adding too much treble to the master bus during "mastering"???? What else do you think it could be?

What exactly are you doing to the mix when you "master" (plug-ins, setting, etc....)? The more detail you give, the more chance of people helping you with your problem.

Like i said... i cant figure out what it is. And also like i said, im new at this. Basicially all i did was got it sounding good in the mix. Them opened it in a master track, compress it a little bit and use a "Maxim" plug-in from my pro-tools. It sounds great in the monitors... but through anything else it sounds way trebely. I guess maybe my monitors aren't sufficient, but i dont think thats the whole problem.

Like i said... i cant figure out what it is. And also like i said, im new at this. Basicially all i did was got it sounding good in the mix. Them opened it in a master track, compress it a little bit and use a "Maxim" plug-in from my pro-tools. It sounds great in the monitors... but through anything else it sounds way trebely. I guess maybe my monitors aren't sufficient, but i dont think thats the whole problem.