CD data

mckelly46

How do I burn a CD so I can read date about each track. Song title, author, etc. I know this is easy with mp3s, but what about .wav tracks? Logic Pro X doesn't seem to have ability to attach data to .wav files.

Kindest regards all,

Michael

Hi,
You don't attach the data to, or embed it in, the wav file; The data is burned onto the disc in addition to the wav files.

MP3s, as you describe, work differently.

What you want is CD authoring software. Many suites will do this, and i'm far from an expert on the topic, but there seems to be an understanding that some do it to a better standard than others.
Anyway, for basic use something like nero will probably do what you want. :)

Generally you import the wavs, fill out the info per song, then burn, fill in the global info for the disc, then burn.

Thank you ... and now I'm wondering. In the mastering process I put all my mastering and bounced tracks in one file, then use Perception to balance the volumes. I initially thought I might be able to put information for each track then burn the entire thing with the data showing. Now, I seems like dragging each mastered file into CD authoring software might be the way to go.

I'll look into this a bit more ... a quick and initial search brings me to Roxio's Toast 14. Might this be the best solution?

I don't know anything about perception but, yes, Toast is a viable tool.

As I said, I don't know anything about standards, or reputations, but I know Toast can do what you want.

Nero definitely does it, I use Nero and my music CDs have always had the CD Text* added.

* - note that it's called CD Text, cd data is a completely different thing.

Nero definitely does it, I use Nero and my music CDs have always had the CD Text* added.

* - note that it's called CD Text, cd data is a completely different thing.

it's also called metadata, CDtext is just the nero word for it.

from wikipedia:

Digital music[edit]