building my own 4 band compressor

banjo71

I'm a novice at mixing, and a clueless novice at mastering. But anyway, I have a good song I've mixed pretty well I think. At least I'm happy with it. I wanted to see what happens if I take that song and try mastering it in Pro Tools. I wanted to use the EQ - Multiband Compressor - General Compressor - EQ - Limiter - Dither chain. Except I need to upgrade my Waves C6 seeing as it doesn't work in PT 12.5.2 on Win 10. So I built my own multiband compressor using 4 EQ bands on 4 auxillary channels. Does anyone else do this? I'd rather have the C6 plugin, but I got a pretty good sound out of it after farting with it for a few hours. I'm going to try and attach a picture of my screen shot making the print audio.

pt mastering.jpg

I used Pro Tool's Channel Strip for compression and post eq, then added a stereo image to each band. Along with all these changeable settings and the volume faders, there are so many ways to get different sounds. I don't think this is how anybody probably masters, but I don't care...lol

First thing - Understand that the (probably vast) majority of mastering engineers use maul-the-band compression as an absolute "last resort only if the mix is so screwed up that nothing else will fix it and I can't get a remix" tool. It's a band-aid (no pun intended) for a broken leg.

No matter what the marketing department says about it being the "Mastering Engineer's Secret Weapon."

You've essentially built an "old school" maul-the-band compressor -- Back in the day (before they really existed), we'd use multiple compressors after a crossover -- Basically, a LMH PA system setup summed back to stereo.

Long story short - If this is working for you, there you go. But I'd much rather find out why such extreme measures are needed and fix that instead.