About to mastering my album and need a quick guide!

YanKleber

Retired
Hey fellows!

I am almost done with the mixing of my album (around 10 tunes) and the time for mastering is coming. I don't think that is possible to make the tunes to sound similar to each other because conceptually they weren't not recorded with this intention/concern -- I used different drum sets and different guitar rigs in each one. So at certain point they even seem to be played by different bands...

I don't have a lot of expectations; as you already know I am a self producer and this is just a hobby album that has absolutely no commercial intention (it will be offered to download for free on Sound Cloud and I also will press a few copies for friends). I just would like that it sounded interesting.

At the current point the mixes sound fine but they lack some 'salt' (if you can get me) and the levels are quite different.

What I expect from the mastered album is:

1) Get some spice (tunes are sounding flat and boring)
2) Maybe to get a more stereo aspect (that spatial thing)
3) Make the tunes to sound at the same level among themselves

PS: I don't care that the album play super loud as a lot of people is freak about nowadays.

Anyway, I have no idea where to start. Ideas? Suggestions?

:thumbs up:

For 1) - work on your mixes more before getting them mastered. For 2) - again, work on your mixes fist. Work with the panning of the various instruments. The ME can add a stereo widener to the track, but you'll do better getting it right in mixing. If there's anything wrong with a particular song's sound to you during mixing - keep working on it, it's not ready for the mastering!