Having marshall amp on album cover?

LJUK

Does anyone have any experience or knowledge about having a marshall amp and logo in the background of an album cover. do i need to get permission and/or pay them etc?
obviously its a brand so my guess is probably yes, just wondering if anyone knows for sure.

thanks

I'd be keen to hear a solid answer on this, but I seriously doubt it!
What about guitars, or drinks, or clothing? Cars? Everything's branded these days.

And conversely, I'd like to hear someone knowledgeable on the issue weigh in on when there is a solid black piece of tape over the Marshall (or any other) logo, whether it be live, on a concert video, music video...

I imagine there are unique circumstances (eg the band is boycotting or some issue between the brand and label, whatever). So I'm interested to hear about these as well as general issues.

Great thread!

Is this a real problem, Greg? On the bigger scale, I mean?

I don't know. I'm not a copyright lawyer.

I'm just guessing here, purely speculation, that the intent of including the brand is what may raise a red flag.

If your album cover is a live shot of a band on a stage using Marshall amps in the background, maybe that won't be a problem because the amps are just part of a picture and not the focus or intent. Same as if there are beer cans on the stage, or a car in a background, or if you're wearing Converse shoes.

If your album cover is the Marshall logo and not much else, and you're using that logo to entice people to buy your shit, like "hey this guy uses Marshalls, we must buy this album!" then maybe that's a problem.

And conversely, I'd like to hear someone knowledgeable on the issue weigh in on when there is a solid black piece of tape over the Marshall (or any other) logo, whether it be live, on a concert video, music video...