have the oppotunity of a liftime and not sure what to do

jerseyboy

o.k. first things first yes i am a newbie here but i have a serious question for those here who have the experience.

my brothers girlfriend is being offered a deal with a major recording labelshe has no representation. i was asked to co-manager her alongside my brother. now i have plenty experience managing but i never had any schooling in the music management field.

i know that i need to get a lawyer asap, and i know that i need to become familiar with the way business is conducted in the arena.
so my question to you guys is what should be my first step to doing this and being successful at it?

thanks in advance for all the help!

and please if you dont have something constructive to add please pretend that you didnt read this(i really don't have time for that) i have a week to get my stuff presentable :D

The lawyer thing is a must. Make sure he/she is an "Entertainment Attorney" and ask for current references. If they won't give current references then walk, no make that run, away.

If she's really going pro then she needs Professional management. Again, current references are a must. If you want a crash course in the business get the book "All You Need to Know About the Music Business" fifth edition by Donald S. Passman. Books A Million normally stocks it. If not then Amazon.com. The Library of Congress number is ISBN 0-7432-4637-3. It goes into detail about all the slimy stuff that goes on. What I like is it describes in detail what to expect (and what to watch out for) in a contract in layman terms. It won't make you an expert but it'll help you to understand what the lawyer is trying to explain.

DD

Thanks

thanks for the info

i was thinking of telling her to get a pro but i think this could be an opportunity to get my foot in the door in this business.

again thanks for the info :D

jerseyboy said: