First share in this forum - Attention Cover

Julia Ko

Hi all this is Julia :)

This is my first time posting my cover here. The song is "Attention" by Charlie Puth.
Hope you like it and I am looking forward to any feedback!

Thanks again :)

Last edited:
Well done!

I'd like to hear the guitar better, a little fuller and better quality overall. Was it all done with a single mic (guitar + vocal at the same time)? I'd at least put a decent mic on the guitar, perhaps a little closer (seems to have some of what might be less than ideal room, but that's subjective).

The vocal is very nice!

P.S. Our son just moved back from Hong Kong after working there a year. We were there for Lunar/Chinese New Year just this past Jan/Feb!

Hello Julia! What a BEAUTIFUL VOICE! As mentioned, the strings need to come forward just a hair and you also have some swallowing and lip smacking going on as well. Simple mic technique would remove this as well as moving just an inch or two away from the mic. Your breathing noise fits well with the song IMHO.

Thank you both for the comment!

I also think that the guitar sounds a bit strange, but I am in a tight budget in purchasing another mic for the guitar.
However, I am using the Scarlett 2i2 studio, so I will look into it to see how I can record the guitar sound better :)

Let me check the mic technique forum and learn some skills for the recording!

Thanks again ;)

Thank you both for the comment!

I also think that the guitar sounds a bit strange, but I am in a tight budget in purchasing another mic for the guitar.
However, I am using the Scarlett 2i2 studio, so I will look into it to see how I can record the guitar sound better :)

Let me check the mic technique forum and learn some skills for the recording!

Thanks again ;)