+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38

Thread: Email from Kennis music, offering me money!!

  1. #1
    dogbiscuit is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    64
    Rep Power
    37

    Email from Kennis music, offering me money!!

    Sign in to disable this ad
    I recieved an email yesterday from an african record company, Kennis music. They claim that Star Mega Jam found me while showcasing kennis artists, and that they would like to sign me up for promotion in africa.
    I quote: 'Star Mega Jam ask us to let you know about this so that you can give them the right to use any of your materials for promotional, review, broadcasting and other purposes. Star Mega Jam also want to be your marketer and Distributor in Africa. They have offered to pay you the sum of $30,000 for this and as your Agent, we need to know your interest in this'.

    Firstly, as far as I'm aware, I do not have a profile with Kennis music. And secondly, Kennis music are not my agent, but they are claiming to be.
    It looks suspicous, but the Kennis music website looks genuine enough. And if it's a scam then why are they offering to PAY me $30,000, by cheque!?!

  2. #2
    Track Rat's Avatar
    Track Rat is offline Dungeon Studio
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Ballwin, Mo. USA
    Age
    56
    Posts
    12,326
    Rep Power
    14361559
    There's no such thing as "free lunch".

  3. #3
    Steve Henningsgard's Avatar
    Steve Henningsgard is offline Engineer at Signaturetone
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,407
    Rep Power
    0
    It's a scam. Block them from your email address and never think about it again.

  4. #4
    89gtsleeper is offline Dedicated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    389
    Rep Power
    57282
    I say SCAM also..... buuuuuuuuttttttttttttttttt........................


    I'd tell them, to send the check to you, and wait for it to clear in your bank account, then you sign paperwork... other than that, they can piss off. That's awesome if they're legit and want to give you money for something you've already done, but I doubt it. Tell them to send the money on over.

  5. #5
    Steve Henningsgard's Avatar
    Steve Henningsgard is offline Engineer at Signaturetone
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,407
    Rep Power
    0
    It's a scam. Block them from your email address and never think about it again.

  6. #6
    dogbiscuit is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    64
    Rep Power
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by 89gtsleeper View Post
    I say SCAM also..... buuuuuuuuttttttttttttttttt........................


    I'd tell them, to send the check to you, and wait for it to clear in your bank account, then you sign paperwork... other than that, they can piss off. That's awesome if they're legit and want to give you money for something you've already done, but I doubt it. Tell them to send the money on over.
    Well I emailled them back asking if this was for real and saying that I don't even have a profile with them. They replied straight away saying that they had came across my profile on the net and since they were impressed, they submitted it to Star Mega Jam and they are interested in me. They want me to send them my name, address, etc so that they can get the cheque to me!!
    My head says it must be a scam, but my heart says 'Please be true!!' Their site looks genuine. http://www.kennisradio.com/

  7. #7
    Track Rat's Avatar
    Track Rat is offline Dungeon Studio
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Ballwin, Mo. USA
    Age
    56
    Posts
    12,326
    Rep Power
    14361559
    Tell you what I'll do. Send me your name, address, social security number and bank account info and I'll take care of the details for you (can you say "phishing"?)

  8. #8
    dogbiscuit is offline Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    64
    Rep Power
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by Track Rat View Post
    Tell you what I'll do. Send me your name, address, social security number and bank account info and I'll take care of the details for you (can you say "phishing"?)
    They're not asking for any bank details though, that's whats weird about it.

  9. #9
    Steve Henningsgard's Avatar
    Steve Henningsgard is offline Engineer at Signaturetone
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,407
    Rep Power
    0
    http://www.nairaland.com/nigeria/topic-5840.0.html

    It's a scam. Block them from your email address and never think about it again.

  10. #10
    89gtsleeper is offline Dedicated Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    389
    Rep Power
    57282
    Man that site is cheap and hasn't been updated in forever
    They have no pictures of any of their big names actually being with them. There is no way they are legit.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Music in TV/Film
    By bknot1 in forum DJ & Hip Hop Production
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-26-2007, 05:28
  2. Announcement: Future Music Magazine To Launch in US!!
    By PlasticMoonRain in forum Recording Techniques
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-13-2004, 11:13
  3. TAKE BACK THE MUSIC - A REVISED MANIFESTO
    By XXX Music in forum Marketing Your Music / Publicity
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-20-2000, 17:38
  4. READ THIS, IT'S IMPORTANT -> TAKE BACK THE MUSIC NOW!! <-
    By XXX Music in forum Marketing Your Music / Publicity
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-20-2000, 14:16

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
HomeRecording Newsletter

Subscribe to HomeRecording's Official Newsletter!