Sampling Methods

bassout

What methods do u guys use for sampling... I'm new to home production. I've only worked with cake walk before, but I'm getting ACID Pro 5 and a BOSS BR1600 recorder.

I know I'll be able to sample music with either of these... but will they let me 'lift' vocals to be sampled in beats? I'm looking for a cheaper alternative than the sampling workstations I've seen... any ideas?

Thanks, nine.

Get over it GB... hip hop started out as a form of artistic expression. Groups like the Beastie Boyz and Run DMC used sampling as an artform from the very beginning... they spliced and sampled sounds from dozens of songs to make 1 beat. If you think sampling is stealing... you're in the wrong forum.

That being said... anybody have any other ideas. Can you strip vocals from music during the mastering process?

GamezBond said:
Make your own music fool.Sampling is STEALING!

As I said in another thread this guy is a ass! music is all about creativity so bassout put your BEATS together the way you like them :D

sampling is an artform if your good at it, mixing samples from different pieces arranging them in a collage, time stretching, and pitch shifting placing samples in a complimentary progression is mind bending and no two people will get the same thing, it is the heart of artisitic creativity in production.

by lifting vocals do you mean taking just the vocals out of a sample, because from my experience that is pretty difficult and you'll need some high end equipment for that. It is, however, much easier to remove vocals from samples.